

CEER announces its new Board

- Lord Mogg reappointed as CEER President
- . CEER is proud to promote the advancement of women in energy

Lord Mogg re-appointed as CEER President

The Council of European Energy Regulators (CEERⁱ) today appointed its new Board. The CEER Board comprises six Directors: one President and five Vice Presidents.

The CEER General Assembly unanimously re-appointed Lord Mogg (UK) as CEER President.

Ms Annegret Groebel (Germany), Mr Walter Boltz (Austria), Mr Michel Thiollière (France) and Mr Marek Woszczyk (Poland) were re-appointed as Vice Presidents. CEER welcomed Ms Valeria Termini (Italy) who joined the Board as a Vice President.

These Board appointments are for a two-year term with effect from 30 January 2013. The Board of Directors manages the CEER and represents the association externally. The CEER working group chairs were also appointedⁱⁱ.

CEER is proud to promote the advancement of women in energy

For the first time, CEER's Board has 2 female members. CEER President, Lord Mogg said:

"I am proud of the work and commitment of all our Vice Presidents and working group chairs. I am particularly proud of our female Board members as they are also important role models who can help the advancement of women in energy. Women's development is not only an issue of gender diversity. It makes economic sense. CEER is proud to help, in very practical ways, the advancement of women in energy and thus improve the effectiveness and efficiency of regulation."

At the 5th World Forum on Energy Regulation (WFER V) in Canada, May 2012, Lord Mogg, as Chair of the International Confederation of Energy Regulators (ICERⁱⁱⁱ) declared that "women should have equal opportunities be it in the boardroom, on the conference platform or the electricity sub-station". CEER has taken the lead, within ICER, to drive a "Women in Energy" project for female regulators. The project, which is in its inception stages, is expected to be up and running in the second half of 2013.

Brussels, 30 January 2013

Ends (see Note for Editors on next page)



Notes for Editors:

ⁱ The Council of European Energy Regulators (CEER) is the voice of Europe's national regulators of electricity and gas at EU and international level. It is a not-for-profit organisation which represents 31 national regulatory authorities from the 27 EU Member States, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia (FYROM), Iceland, Norway and Switzerland. http://www.energy-regulators.eu

- Implementation, Benchmarking and Monitoring (CIBM): K. Locquet, Belgium
- Market Integrity and Transparency (CMIT): J.Braz, Portugal
- Gas (CGWG): W. Boltz, Austria
- Electricity (CEWG): M. Crouch, UK
- Customer and Retail Markets (CRM): P. de Suzzoni, France
- International Strategy (ISG): M. Thiollière, France (Co-chair) and R. Huttunen, Finland (Co-chair).

ii The Chairs and Co-Chairs of CEER's six Working Groups in 2013:

The International Confederation of Energy Regulators (ICER) is a voluntary framework for cooperation between energy regulators from around the globe. By establishing this voluntary confederation, with regular and structured contacts and cooperation between regulators, ICER hope to exchange information and best practices in the regulation field and to contribute to the evolution towards a sustainable planet. ICER's membership includes over 200 regulatory authorities and spans 6 continents. ICER is currently chaired by Lord Mogg, President of the Council of European Energy Regulators (CEER). See www.icer-regulators.net