CEER elects its Vice Presidents

Press Release (PR-17-08)

19 October 2017

Today, the Council of European Energy Regulators (CEER)1 elected 5 Vice Presidents so as to complete CEER’s new Board of Directors:

  • Ms Marie Pierre Fauconnier (Belgium)
  • Ms Annegret Groebel (Germany)
  • Ms Helene Gassin (France)
  • Mr Martin Sik (Czech Republic)
  • Ms Anne Vadasz-Nilsson (Sweden)

The first 2 Vice Presidents mentioned above were re-appointed to the Board. New to the Board is Ms Helene Gassin (France), Mr Martin Sik (Czech Republic) and Ms Anne Vadasz-Nilsson (Sweden).

The CEER Board comprises six Directors: one President and five Vice Presidents who will lead CEER2, the European association of energy regulators.

Welcoming the CEER Vice Presidents, Mr Blaney (CEER President-elect), said

“Lord Mogg has successfully driven forward a consumer-focus to our goal of integrated European energy markets. With the new CEER Board and the continued commitment of our membership, I am confident that regulators, through CEER, will continue to develop regulatory best practice that serves the public interest. I look forward to working with the European Institutions and the energy sector in an open, collaborative way.”

Outgoing CEER President, Lord Mogg, said

“CEER will go from strength to strength under the new leadership. It’s fitting to see the geographical and gender balance among the board members that will ensure the broad involvement of all national regulators.”  

The CEER Board appointments are for a 2.5 year term with effect from 5 November 2017.


         New CEER Board, with effect from 5 November 2017

In December, CEER will appoint the Chairs of its Working Groups. The CEER 2018 Work Programme will be published early in 2018.

Brussels, 19 October 2017

Ends (see Notes for Editors)


Tel: +32 2 788 73 30